Topology, Algebra, and Categories in Logic 2019

Nice, June 17 - 21 (conference)

Île de Porquerolles, June 10 - 15 (school)

Background and scope of the conference. Studying logic via semantics is a well-established and very active branch of mathematical logic with many applications in computer science and elsewhere. The area is characterized by results, tools and techniques stemming from various fields, including universal algebra, topology, category theory, order, and model theory. The programme of the conference TACL 2019 will focus on three interconnecting mathematical themes central to the semantic study of logic and their applications: topological, algebraic, and categorical methods.

TACL 2019 is the ninth conference in the series Topology, Algebra and Categories in Logic (TACL, formerly TANCL). Earlier instalments of this conference have been organized in Tbilisi (2003), Barcelona (2005), Oxford (2007), Amsterdam (2009), Marseille (2011), Nashville (2013), Ischia (2015), and Prague (2017). For more information about the TACL series visit the TACL series website.

Topics. Contributed talks are intended to be about topological, algebraic or categorical methods which are used in mathematical or computer science logic. This includes, but is not limited to, the following areas:

Algebraic logic
Algebraic structures in CS
Categorical methods in logic
Domain theory
Fuzzy and many-valued logics
Lattice theory

Lattices with operators
Modal logics
Non-classical logics
Ordered algebraic structures
Ordered topological spaces
Pointfree topology

Proofs and types
Residuated structures
Stone-type dualities
Substructural logics
Topological semantics of modal logic

Important Dates

Submission Deadline 27 February 2019
Author Notification 10 April 2019
Registration Deadline TBA
Conference 17 - 21 June 2019
Summer School 10 - 15 June 2019

The research discussed has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement No.670624)

Université Côte d'Azur

Laboratoire J.A. Dieudonné

Programme Committee

Silvio Ghilardi, University of Milan, Italy (PC co-chair)
Ramon Jansana, University of Barcelona, Spain (PC co-chair)
Mai Gehrke, CNRS and Université Côte d’Azur, France (liaison with local organizing committee)
Nick Bezhanishvili, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Marta Bílková, Charles University, Czech Republic
Agata Ciabattoni, TU Vienna, Austria
David Gabelaia, Tbilisi State University, Republic of Georgia
Jean Goubault-Larrecq, ENS Cachan, France
John Harding, New Mexico State University, USA
Rosalie Iemhoff, Utrecht University, Netherlands
Vincenzo Marra, University of Milan, Italy
Paul-André Melliès, CNRS and Paris Diderot University, France
Jorge Picado, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Aleš Pultr, Charles University, Czech Republic
James Raftery, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Anna Romanowska, Warsaw Polytechnic, Poland
Valentin Shehtman, Moscow State University, Russia
Isar Stubbe, University Côte d’Opale, France
Fred Wehrung, CNRS and University of Caen, France
Michael Zakharyaschev, University of London, United Kingdom

Steering Committee

Guram Bezhanishvili, New Mexico State University, United States
Mai Gehrke, CNRS and Université Côte d’Azur, France
Silvio Ghilardi, University of Milan, Italy
Rob Goldblatt, Victoria University Wellington, New Zealand
Ramón Jansana, University of Barcelona, Spain
Hilary Priestley, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
James Raftery, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Yde Venema, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Organizing Committee

Mai Gehrke
Étienne Lozes
Frédéric Patras
Luigi Santocanale
Clemens Berger
Carlos Simpson
Célia Borlido
Tomáš Jakl
Brett McLean
Axel Osmond
Luca Reggio
Mehdi Zaïdi